Uncle

Today is one of the saddest days of my life, as my uncle was laid to rest. This is the first time I have experienced the death of a close family member… close as in having spent time with them, growing close to them.

I know that death is a part of the circle of life and I am really trying to not think of how he died, but of how he lived… and there is one particular occasion that springs to mind.

Whenever I visited Hong Kong in my younger days, we would go bearing gifts to our family and I was always asked to get one for my cousin; more often than not I would get him a football shirt. One time, his father (my uncle) asked me why he never got one… I don’t remember how I responded and I don’t remember whether I ever bought him one in the following years, but all I do know is that I no longer have the chance.

I never really talked to him about football so I don’t know who he supported, he gave me the impression that he was a fan of football in general; but I do seem to remember that he “liked” Liverpool back then… so all I can do now is hope that they can win the FA Cup for him in two weeks time.

I have lots of family in Hong Kong but my uncle always made the effort to spend time with us whenever we visited; going to the beach, getting a bite to eat, trips to China and Macau… this is what I will remember him for.

My uncle was a happy person, always smiling… always laughing; and this is how I want to live my life.

RIP

Leave a comment