Cute

Apparently we have a cute kid.

For the past thirteen days he has been called cute so many times and by so many different people, I’ve lost count.

But right now, I’d much rather he be healthy. Because every single one of those people who called him cute were there to care for him whilst in hospital.

For 13 days he’s required constant support for breathing and feeding. He’s spent 5 days in Paediatric ICU. He’s had 2 ambulance trips. He’s just 1 month old. My wife has hugged our eldest 0 times.

We wouldn’t have been able to cope without the love and care shown by all at Pinderfields, Embrace and PICU at LGI. The support from family to look after our eldest. The sharing of pictures of our new baby niece.

For me, Liverpool continuing to win has kept me positive. When our eldest was just a few weeks old, Liverpool won the Champions League and then went on to win the Premier League the following season. Now they are League Cup winners with our youngest, again, just a few weeks old. They have both been lucky charms. One down, four to go.

It’s been tough living through COVID for my family. Family deaths, childcare whilst working from home, various illnesses, stress and mental health issues, pregnancy with another small baby, a second emergency caesarean section. And now this…

I hope you get to go home soon.

Leave a comment